Sticky Ginger Cake

27 Jun

Hello again gentle bakers! Apologies for the lack of deliciousness last week – I made some lovely brownies last Sunday, but as they were reasonably straight forward to make, I figured you all might not be all that fascinated by it. Anyway, this week it’s another fiendishly fabulous cake from River Cottage Everyday – Sticky Jamaican Style Ginger cake, and, Mr. B describes, is quite darkly delicious. Calling for black treacle, golden syrup, dark muscovado sugar (yes, it really did this time), crystalized ginger and a mighty splash of rum (of the Puerto Rican variety), this cake is remarkably spicy and sweet, with a texture that’s soft and delicate, save for the occasional chewy gingery bite. I wasn’t quite sure how it would turn out – I’m slightly wary of cooking with alcohol – but the rum comes through just at the end, giving the cake more of kick than it otherwise would have had. Personally, I think that I would prefer a rum-free cake, but I’m unsure what you could use as a substitute. Any thoughts?

Also, the only other issue I had with this cake was getting it to cook through all the way. I did end up burning the top ever so slightly, but the problem was that by the time the middle of the cake was cooked properly, the outer edges had become a bit dry. I noticed this the last time I made a loaf cake and I’m not sure if it’s the pan I’m using or it’s my wonky fan oven. Suggestions?

I definitely recommend this recipe – except for the practically perfect victoria sponge, I do believe this is my favourite sweet from this cookbook so far. If anyone is interested in the recipe, shoot me a note in the comments and I’ll send it your way.

Now for the pics!!

2 Responses to “Sticky Ginger Cake”

  1. Vicki 28/06/2010 at 10:35 #

    Recipe please!!!! This looks and sounds fantastic!

    • bonezombie314 28/06/2010 at 11:24 #

      Will do Vicki! I’ll send it your way this evening. It is really quite good – I’m sure you’ll love it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

