Swirly Muffins

8 Jun

Greetings fellow bakers and/or consumers of delicious baked goods!

Okay, so after the DISASTER of last week’s baking – damn you whoopie pies, damn you – this week, it’s back to basics. From my new favourite cookbook ever, River Cottage Everyday by Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall, I decided to make the Lemon Curd Swirl Muffins (probably not the recipe title as in the book, but I don’t have it in front of me at the mo, so that’s close enough). Hugh offers 3 alternative variations based on the standard mix, so I also did a batch of Nutella Swirl muffins as well. I have to say, these are AWESOME. Seriously guys. Awesome. The batter is not too sweet and the lemon curd is fantastic in muffin form.  I really like the fact that he gives tips on how to adjust the recipe depending on your taste – nutella + muffin is a stroke of genius. (There’s also jammy muffins and fruity muffins.) A brief word of warning though – really , really be careful not to over mix the batter when you add in the lemon curd/jam/nutella – the whole point of this recipe is to get gooey globs of the stuff intermixed with the fluffy muffin batter. If you over mix, you just get either lemon flavoured muffins or chocolate muffins.

Pics!!

The lemon curd muffins get this wonderfully sticky, shiny glaze all over them. Lovely.

Aren’t they adorable?  I think so.

So far it’s three for three for Mr Fearnley-Whittingstall’s recipes – two of which from River Cottage Everyday. There’s lots more delicious recipes that I have to try – I’m seriously tempted next week to make the Honey Wholemeal cake, but we’ll see.

If anyone is interested in the recipe for this week, just drop me a comment and I’ll try and get it to ya!

Oh, and btw, if anyone’s interested, you can now purchase perfectly formed Whoopie Pies at M&S. May I never have to make them again…

Leave a Reply

