Lemon Poppyseed cake

17 May

Good Monday Morning gentle readers! Today it’s Lemon Poppyseed Cake day – my very first Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall recipe ever. (Recipe here, via the Guardian. There’s also a recipe for fennel meatballs, but since fennel is the bane of my existence, I skipped that one.) While I was selecting images to include with this post I was reminded of a book that was a childhood favourite of mine – the Missing Piece by Shel Silverstein. For those of you who don’t recall, it’s about a vaguely pac-man looking thing searching for his missing piece and the things he learns along the way, all the while, singing this little song:

Oh, I’m lookin’ for my missin’ piece
I’m lookin’ for my missin’ piece
Hi-dee-ho, here I go
lookin’ for my missin’ piece

Anyway, I don’t know why I thought of the missing piece rather than pac-man, but there you are. Now onwards to the cake action!

So I saw this recipe last weekend in the Guardian whilst traveling to Oxford to visit a friend and immediately decided it looked like the most beautiful thing ever – pretty much anything lemon flavoured is my favourite ever, other than the awesome banana and chocolate combo, which is damn near perfect. Anyway, the recipe itself wasn’t too complicated, the only tough part was making the meringue and then ‘gently’ folding it into the batter. I am not a gentle baker, so this is counter-instinctive. On the whole, I think it turned out alright, although I think next time I may skip the brutally tart lemon syrup that goes on top – either that or cut the lemon down by half or something. I mean, I like the lemon, but even I can only take it so far. If anyone ends up with one of the end pieces, be warned. It’ll be tart enough to make your face pucker. Best enjoyed with tea or coffee, methinks.

He’s looking for his missing piece!

Seriously soft and moist.

The missing piece itself. I fear he may never be reunited with his gigantic cake-y friend.

That’s it for today folks – next week I’m attempting the ultimate cake/bread thing: Banana Chocolate Cake. I can barely contain myself!!!

3 Responses to “Lemon Poppyseed cake”

  1. Carla 19/05/2010 at 22:03 #

    Carolyn!! Enjoying your blog from far far away…. that looks delicious! And as it happens, I was looking at a recipe for banana chocolate bread this morning, and it sounds fabulous… good luck!!

    • bonezombie314 24/05/2010 at 10:54 #

      Hey Carla! Thanks for the comment – glad that you’re enjoying the blog! It helps me keep my sanity in the midst of all this thesis writing. 🙂
      So my banana chocolate bread was a serious disappointment – if the recipe you found works well, would you send it my way? I’d love to give it another go.
      Hope everything is well with you!
      C

  2. Kathleen 16/09/2010 at 04:41 #

    Hi! I found this site because I googled “fennel is the bane of my existence” (because it is) and I am thrilled to find this delicious looking lemon poppyseed cake and a funny blog!

Leave a Reply

