Small victory on the war against chocolate chip cookies

28 Feb

My recent attempt at conquering the chocolate chip cookie has been moderately successful. I went ahead and took the easy route and went for the recipe on the Nestle tollhouse website. The batter was super easy to put together (making sure to properly cream the butter and sugar) and tasted awesome. (Yes, I know, I shouldn’t be eating the batter, but damn it,  it’s tasty.)

Here be the batter:

I think I managed to figure out what one of the problems I’ve been having with cookie consistency lately – it’s the sugar. I know sugar is sugar, right? Apparently not. Recently, I’ve fallen in love with muscovado sugar, which is slightly more granular than regular brown sugars and it tastes really rich, but I think that’s whats been making the cookies have a weird, somewhat crunchy internal texture. Today I switched to normal fairtrade light brown sugar and noticed how fine it was – I definitely think it made a difference. The cookies came out soft and tender in the centre; I also reduced the cooking time from the suggested 9-11 minutes to 8. Really nice.

The finished product:

Uber pile of CC cookies

mmm. cookies

So while I’m pretty happy with the way these turned out, I’m still not completely satisfied. They are damn tasty though and I have thoroughly enjoyed the 5 or 6 I’ve eaten. 🙂

In other news, almost no work has been done on the thesis today. I started going through it to make corrections, but kinda lost steam about halfway through. So much work to do… ugh. I really wanted to get this chapter finished this month, but hopefully it’ll only take another day or so to wrap it up.

And just because it amuses me to no end:

mitosis!

awesome.

One Response to “Small victory on the war against chocolate chip cookies”

  1. Ashleigh 28/02/2010 at 23:32 #

    Carolyn, if you melt the butter before you cream, and increase the proportion of brown to white sugar, you can increase the chewiness by quite a bit! Also, if you are really looking for something that gets softer as it ages, try using bread flour and mixing for the same amount of time- it will develop stronger gluten bonds that add to the texture. Good luck with the baking/procrastination!

Leave a Reply

