My numerous unsuccessful attempts at chocolate chip cookies

27 Feb

For some reason, no matter how hard I try, I have yet to master the fine art of making the perfect chocolate chip cookie. Honestly, I think this is a bit strange, considering it seems to be touted as the easiest and most straight forward of all cookie recipes. The last time I made them, the cookies spread across the entire baking sheet, creating one ‘uber-cookie’, and the rest turned into crispy ephemeral things that crumbled as soon as you bit into them. Since then, I honestly haven’t bothered with them, but I really want to try again. See, what I really would like to make are ones that are chewy in the middle and a little crunchy along the edges. That would be lovely. I’m thinking of trying one of Alton Brown’s chocolate chip recipes, but I am kinda tempted to just look up the one on the back of the nestle tollhouse bag. Going to attempt it tomorrow night – will post the results.

On the other hand, good progress has been made this month on the thesis front. Almost completed my freakishly huge results chapter (seriously, it’s something like 75 pages long). I really want to get it to my supervisor on Monday, but chances of me doing ‘work’ this weekend are microscopic. I do have some interesting results though, and they do appear to support my hypothesis (always a plus). Nice.

Leave a Reply

